August 15, 2010

PTC4 Day 2: Ronnie Through to Finals Day

Filed under: snookerbacker @ 6:38 am

Ronnie: In the Mood.

When Ronnie O’Sullivan puts his mind to it, he’s not a bad snooker player. Yesterday Ronald Antonio was obviously ‘in the mood’ as he left good quality opponents trailing in his wake by winning twelve frames to their collective one.

Crafty Ken Doherty was the only player to take a frame from him, with Ryan Day and Mark Selby being firmly put in their place by the King of Power Snooker. When Ronnie is in that sort of mood he is as close to unbeatable as any player has ever been, but it’s getting harder to spot these days than Ding Junhui, who knows what mood he’ll be in on Monday?

If this continues he will win it, but with our Ron he’s just as likely to bomb out next round to Judd Trump, another who has lost just one frame so far.

My ‘winner’ Marco Fu (40/1) got through but didn’t make such light work of things, two deciders ensuring that he made it to Monday where he faces Tony Drago. Other names making it through were Dominic Dale, Stephen Maguire, Belgian carpenter Bjorn Haneveer who beat Heather Mills squeeze Jamie Walker, and the relative veteran Peter Lines. Team SB longshot Alfie Burden was beaten 4-3 by Dale to qualify, so not a bad performance though Michael White disappointed and will likely not make the team again for a while with a first round exit.

A note to anyone involved in the PTC: Hurry up and get some live bloody streaming sorted out, despite the start of the footsoccerball season in earnest yesterday this website alone saw vastly increased traffic and plenty of appetite for this event, as I’ve said before, fans have patience but it isn’t limitless.

Todays matches:

Barry Pinches (105) 4-0 Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon

Stuart Bingham (65) 3-4 (62) Chen Zhe

Matthew Couch (62) 1-4 (93,64) Anthony Hamilton

Paul Davison (62)  2-4 (54) Jak Jones

Tom Ford (54,55,54) 3-4 (53,74,46, 76 in decider) Martin O’Donnell

Ben Woollaston 3-4 (82) Chris Norbury

Matthew Selt 4-3 (68) Paul Davies

Shaun Murphy (97) 4-3 (109) Michael Holt

Liu Song (84,56) 4-3 (94,58) Sam Baird

Andy Hicks (124) 4-2 James McBain

Peter Ebdon (59,56) 4-3 David Morris

Gerard Greene 4-1 Noppon Saengkham

Jimmy White (withdrawn due to ill health) Shahrukh Nasir w/o

Jimmy Robertson 4-0 Rock Hui

Liu Chuang (44,67,61) 3-4 (43) Joel Walker

Kurt Maflin (66) 1-4 (47,42) Robert Milkins

Jamie Jones (67,59) 2-4 (69,61) Mark Allen

Stephen Lee w/o Charlie Walters

Joe Perry (135tc, 54) 4-3 (65c) Robert Valiant

Andrew Pagett 1-4 (60,65,55) Stuart Carrington

Alan McManus 4-3 (68, 96) Liang Wenbo

Fergal O’Brien 4-2 David Portman

Mike Dunn (64) 4-3 (71,66,121) Stuart Pettman

Matthew Stevens 4-1 (74) James Wattana

Barry Hawkins (74) 4-1(54) Adam Duffy

Jimmy Michie 0-4 Lee Page

Graeme Dott (104, 56) 3-4 Adam Wicheard

Marcus Campbell (54) 3-4 (78,63) Ian Glover

Daniel Wells 4-3 Neil Robertson
Wells came from 3-0 down to beat the World Champ.

Andrew Higginson (51) 4-1 Lucky Vatnani

Jamie O’Neill (100) 4-3 Rod Lawler

Mark Williams (76, 52, 61, 64) 4-1 Ben Harrison

Powered by WordPress

Website transfer complete