June 25, 2010

Murphy Dumped Out of PTC at First Hurdle

Filed under: snookerbacker @ 3:11 pm

Mitchell Mann arrives for his match with Murphy earlier today

Shaun Murphy, the recent winner of the Wuxi Classic and third favourite for the event was this morning unceremoniously dumped out of the first Players Tour Championship Event in Sheffield by Birmingham teenager Mitchell Mann.

Mann led 2-0 before being pegged back and finally completed the final frame victory with a clearance to win on the black. It means Murphy has failed to steal a march on his fellow top 16 players in the ranking list, that haven’t entered this event. A disappointment for him no doubt.

Another notable first round scalp was young Luca Brecel, who didn’t manage to bring down Marco Fu and only managed to score one point in the final two frames. Preston’s Ian McCulloch was also beaten by someone called Allan Taylor but apart from that, at time of writing at least, the rest of the matches seem to be going to form.

Of the three Team Snookerbacker players to have played so far Rory McLeod, Graeme Dott and Mark King have all come through unscathed. Dott arguably now looking much shorter than a 20/1 shot with the exit of Murphy clearing an easier path for him, on paper at least.

I’m off out tonight so won’t be able to update until the morning for the later matches but results so far are:

Shaun Murphy 3-4 Mitchell Mann

Andrew Higginson 4-0 Ahmed Saif

Stephen Lee 4-1 Lee Spick

Rory McLeod 4-1 Oliver Vandenboheede

Marco Fu 4-0 Luca Brecel

Andy Hicks 4-3 Kuldesh Johal

Ian McCulloch 1-4 Allan Taylor

Graeme Dott 4-0 Adam Stefanow

Nigel Bond 4-0 Gavin Buller

Jamie Burnett 4-2 Jamie Clarke

Martin Gould 4-0 Greg Davis

Mike Dunn 4-2 Aditya Mehta

Adrian Gunnell 4-1 Sam Craigie

Mark King 4-2 Stephen Ormerod

Joe Jogia 4-1 David Craggs

Justin Astley 4-0 Kamran Ashraf

Patrick Wallace 4-2 Stephen Craigie

Justin Astley 4-0 Kamran Ashraf

Matthew Couch 4-2 Shahrukh Nasir

Anthony Hamilton 1-4 Jordan Brown

Mark Davis 4-3 Robert Redmond

Stuart Bingham 4-0 Shaun Parkes

David Gilbert 2-4 Nick Jennings

Simon Bedford 2-4 Andrew Norman

Tom Ford 4-0 Martin O’Donnell

Kurt Maflin (147) 4-0 Michal Zielinski

Barry Hawkins 4-3 Hugh Abernethy

Ricky Walden 4-3 Andy Lee

Dave Harold 4-3 Michael Wild

Michael Holt 2-4 Daniel Wells

Fergal O’Brien 4-0 Marc Davis

Bjorn Haneveer 4-2 Ashik Nathwani

Stephen Maguire 4-2 Stuart Carrington

In the meantime, Barry Hearn has found yet another sponsor, this time for six of the PTC events. More here.

Powered by WordPress

Website transfer complete